Wednesday, April 12, 2006

Is there an award for most boorish blogger?

Tom Benjamin is up to his old tricks, taking yet another shot at Dany Heatley after Heatley was the Sens nomination for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy, an award given to the player awarded annually to the National Hockey League player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to ice hockey.

Benjamin and I have had our exchange on Heatley before. I don't feel the need to articulate my point again with Tom, mostly because Martin from Hockey Dirt beat me to it in the comments. Tom feels the way he does, I think he's batshit insane, and that's that. It's a shame because I like Tom and his blog.

I also I find it unfortunate that another one of my favorite bloggers Eric McErlain supports what I consider to be an incredibly ignorant stance, but I suppose there's a little stupidity in everyone.


At 4:16 PM, Blogger ninja said...

Dude killed a dude. What are you gonna do? People remember that kind of thing.

At 4:25 PM, Blogger CMcMurtry said...

He made a mistake most of us did when we were young. He drove too fast.

Lucky for most of us, our idiotic choices didn't end in the death of a friend. For Dany Heatley, it did.

As Martin said, if the Snyder's can forgive him, then someone still holding a grudge seems very ridiculous to me.

I consider Heatley a prime candidate for the award based on his recovery and comeback season, but I'm sure some will disagree, and a bunch of Thrashers fan will burn a depiction of me on their lawns tonight.

At 5:50 PM, Blogger ninja said...

I hear ya, and I've defended Heatley before on different forums. Just playing devils advocate, because no matter how much good you can see, it doesn't change the gruesome facts. And most people remember the latter, which makes Tom's and Eric's questioning of the nomination somewhat less out of whack, don't you think?

At 5:59 PM, Blogger Hossim said...

"The Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy is an annual award under the trusteeship of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association and is given to the National Hockey League player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey. The winner is selected in a poll of all chapters of the PHWA at the end of the regular season."

Requesting a trade, which Heatley did before this season, does not fit the definition of perseverance.

At 6:12 PM, Anonymous Earl Sleek said...

I'm going to defend Tom here also. It is fine that you think Heatley has perservered, I don't know why you take it personally when we all might not agree that he is Masterson-worthy.

If Theo Fleury were to come back and play despite his substance-abuse demons, would he be Masterson-worthy? Like you with Heatley, I can sympathize with poor Theo and his self-destructive behavior. But I don't think Theo deserves an award just because he might have a tougher time than most 'living with himself'.

Heatley may inspire you by his willingness to carry on and play his sport. I don't think that makes his nomination necessarily appropriate.

Hopefully the fact that our opinions disagree doesn't mean that I am automatically 'batshit insane'.

At 8:40 PM, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Craig MacT was nominated for the Masterson soon after he killed a woman while driving drunk in the mid 80s .

He didn't win and Heatley probably won't either .

Tom's been a little off base on a few Sens issues over the years but a different perspective on the team is welcome .

I usually would never want to belong to any club that would have me as a member but I'd like to join the 'batshit insane' club someday .

At 3:41 PM, Blogger sacamano said...

Another discussion took place at BofA

At 3:49 PM, Anonymous Eric McErlain said...

Click here for my response to Chris.

At 4:12 PM, Blogger James Mirtle said...

I think people should come to my site, too.


Post a Comment

<< Home

Listed on BlogShares